No Covers

No Covers“No Covers” is a live concert recording of Terry Morrison’s original tunes. The concert took place in the spring of 1997 at Convocation Hall at the University of Alberta. This magical evening of music in a remarkable acoustic space was recorded by Colin Lay, who was, undeniably, one of Canada’s best recording engineers.

On this recording Terry enlisted the generous talents of some of Edmonton’s finest musicians including; Maria Dunn (accordion), Brian Gregg (guitar), Dwayne Hrynkiw (percussion), Shannon Johnson (violin), Dale Ladouceur (chapman stick & harmonies), Barrie Nighswander (guitar), Farley Scott (upright bass), John Towill (fretless bass).

The songs on ‘NO COVERS’ range from the upbeat acoustic pop of ‘Cream in My Coffee’, ‘Something Going On’ and ‘Naked’ to the jazzy feel of ‘Moment of Reckoning’ or ‘Compitas’. From the introspective ballads ‘Psyche’s Dream’ and ‘Blue Madonna’ to the quirky blues of ‘Hot and Bothered’. The album is a collection of 13 of the best recordings of the evening and holds something for everyone. Despite the diversity of the songs, there is a depth and cohesion in this recording that allows the listener to feel the atmosphere of the concert hall. Morrison has the kind of rich full voice you can fall into. This in combination with skilful accompaniment and strong compositions all add up to a wonderful CD.

“This 13 track, 64 minute disk shows off one of the most intellectually compelling songwriters in town… thoughtful but never boring it resonates with universal experience and lots of heart”
Roger Levesque, Edmonton Journal

Track List
1. Cream In My Coffee 3:28
2. Psyche’s Dream 5:15
3. Two Feet and A Heartbeat 3:56
4. Winter Wind 3:44
5. Moment of Reckoning 5:49
6. Something Going On 5:05
7. Blue Madonna 5:58
8. Compitas 7:00
9. Cyrano’s Valentine 4:39
10. Hot and Bothered 4:20
11. Always on The Move 5:44
12. No Rules 4:30
13. Naked 4:19

Listen to a couple of tracks on SoundCloud

Cream in my Coffee
Blue Madonna

Breaking Ground

The Breaking GroundThis independently produced recording features a selection of 12 original tunes from Edmonton – based singer songwriter TERRY MORRISON. MORRISON’S versatility is well expressed here reflecting a variety of musical influences. From the full band Cajun Country feel of ‘SPLIT IN TWO’ to the haunting almost ethereal ‘SIREN SONG’, Terry has created a piece of work that flows easily, tied together by the warmth of her voice, unique sense of melody and insightful well crafted lyrics.

A respected member of Edmonton’s rich musical community, MORRISON has assembled a talented group of people to accompany her in this project. Featured are BILL BOURNE ( guitar ), SHANNON JOHNSON ( violin ), CHRIS SMITH (guitar & vocals), DALE LADOUCEUR ( chapman stick, fretless bass & vocals ),KEVIN COOK ( electric slide guitar ), JASON KODIE ( accordion ), STU MITCHELL (drums) and JASON CAIRNS (bass). A sort of who’s who of the Edmonton folk scene.

TERRY MORRISON co-produced this C.D. with DAVE MOCKFORD of MONSTER TRACK AUDIO PROJECTS (awarded producer of the year by ARIA for 1993). All the tracks are recorded live off the living room floor of MOCKFORD’S home studio over the course of three days. The title track from this C.D. is simplicity itself. MORRISON, her voice and acoustic guitar recorded at the kitchen table using only one microphone.

THE BREAKING GROUND is a C.D. worthy of any music lovers collection.

“The Breaking Ground expresses a lot of in depth thinking on communication and intuition, and some pretty serious takes on longing and lust in relationships. But the album is entertaining and accessible thanks to rhythmic arrangements and spunky performances with a casual honesty or lighthearted edge that help balance out the lyrics”.
Edmonton Journal
Track List
1. Breaking Ground Track List
2. Big Trouble
3. Thinking Song
4. Golden Boy
5. Dogs Of Life
6. Don’t Tell Me
7. Tokens Of A Dream
8. Ripe For Action
9. Walking The Fine Line
10. Herbaceous Ballad Of Coriander Mandrake
11. Siren Song
12. Split In Two
13. The Breaking Ground

Sample Tracks

Tokens of a Dream
Herbaceous Ballad of Coriander Mandrake

Songs of the Christmas Carol Project

Christmas Carol“Songs of the Christmas Carol Project”, is a songwriters interpretation of the Dickens classic “Christmas Carol” featuring Bill Bourne, Maria Dunn, Kevin Cook, Terry Morrison, Dale Ladouceur, Al Brant and Tom Roschkov.

This disc is a recording of a live performance at the Roxy Theatre in Edmonton. It was recorded and engineered by Colin Lay and is available through Maple Music Canada