Breaking Ground

The Breaking GroundThis independently produced recording features a selection of 12 original tunes from Edmonton – based singer songwriter TERRY MORRISON. MORRISON’S versatility is well expressed here reflecting a variety of musical influences. From the full band Cajun Country feel of ‘SPLIT IN TWO’ to the haunting almost ethereal ‘SIREN SONG’, Terry has created a piece of work that flows easily, tied together by the warmth of her voice, unique sense of melody and insightful well crafted lyrics.

A respected member of Edmonton’s rich musical community, MORRISON has assembled a talented group of people to accompany her in this project. Featured are BILL BOURNE ( guitar ), SHANNON JOHNSON ( violin ), CHRIS SMITH (guitar & vocals), DALE LADOUCEUR ( chapman stick, fretless bass & vocals ),KEVIN COOK ( electric slide guitar ), JASON KODIE ( accordion ), STU MITCHELL (drums) and JASON CAIRNS (bass). A sort of who’s who of the Edmonton folk scene.

TERRY MORRISON co-produced this C.D. with DAVE MOCKFORD of MONSTER TRACK AUDIO PROJECTS (awarded producer of the year by ARIA for 1993). All the tracks are recorded live off the living room floor of MOCKFORD’S home studio over the course of three days. The title track from this C.D. is simplicity itself. MORRISON, her voice and acoustic guitar recorded at the kitchen table using only one microphone.

THE BREAKING GROUND is a C.D. worthy of any music lovers collection.

“The Breaking Ground expresses a lot of in depth thinking on communication and intuition, and some pretty serious takes on longing and lust in relationships. But the album is entertaining and accessible thanks to rhythmic arrangements and spunky performances with a casual honesty or lighthearted edge that help balance out the lyrics”.
Edmonton Journal
Track List
1. Breaking Ground Track List
2. Big Trouble
3. Thinking Song
4. Golden Boy
5. Dogs Of Life
6. Don’t Tell Me
7. Tokens Of A Dream
8. Ripe For Action
9. Walking The Fine Line
10. Herbaceous Ballad Of Coriander Mandrake
11. Siren Song
12. Split In Two
13. The Breaking Ground

Sample Tracks

Tokens of a Dream
Herbaceous Ballad of Coriander Mandrake

Commenting is closed for this article.